Pages Navigation Menu

Ideas and technique to help you promote and image radio

Hobsons Mystery Voice rules

This competition has now closed.

Competition mechanic

1. Entrants correctly identify the two “mystery voices” heard in the Earshot Creative Review podcast published on 4 May, 2011 and subsequently highlighted on the blog.

2. Entry is via the form at

2. Both “mystery voices” are artists on the Hobsons talent roster. Use the Hobsons website to help you. I may add other clues.

3. There is one correct name for male artist and one for female artist. You need to identify both to secure a place in the draw.

4. Entries close at the end of Sunday 3 July, 2011. Any entries received after that time will not be considered.

5. A draw of correct entrants will determine the winner and runners up.

6. There will be one winner, drawn first, and three runners up, drawn subsequently. The result of the draw will be final.

7. The winner will be announced in an edition of the Earshot Creative Review and on the Earshot radio blog.


The prizes

1. The winner will enjoy a one-hour recording session with one of the Hobsons voice artists listed below in the Hobsons Chiswick studio.

2. Three runners-up will each receive a T shirt of their choice from

2. The winner can choose the voice of their preference from the list of available artists.

3. The winner can attend the voice session in person or connect over ISDN. Hobsons will staff the studio.

4. The date and time of the session are by mutual agreement between the winner and Hobsons.

5. Audio from the voice session is licensed to the winner for station production, imaging and promotions use in perpetuity. However, rights for third party commercial advertising use is not included.


Artists available to the winner

Adult voices

James Barriscale
Tim Bentinck
Julie Berry
Andrew Bicknell
Suzanne Bonetti
Richard Brimblecombe
Tom Cotcher
Samantha Dakin
Adam Rhys Dee
Jo Dow
Nicola Duffett
Beatie Edney
DeNica Fairman
Jenny Gannon
Bob Golding
Jonathan Harden
Kate Hardie
Florence Hoath
Steve Hope Wynne
Bethan James
Nicholas Jones
Michael Kingsmith
Ross Lee
Jane MacFarlane
Alex Macqueen
Simon Mattacks
Sue Elliott Nicholls
Danny Nutt
Callum O’Neill
Benjamin O’Mahony
Caron Pascoe
Patrick Pearson
Rob Rackstraw
Jon Rand
Kate Robbins
Clifford Samuel
Rebekah Staton
Roger Tilling
Kate Walsh
Cookie Weymouth
Tom Davis

Young Voices

Guy Crosswell
Oliver Bee
Poppy Crosswell
Nathan Bryon
Guy Brayn
Georgia Brown
Charlie Cameron
Josh Jamieson
India Van Spall
Jack Stiles
Jodie McLachlan

Other rules

1. Entry is open to anybody working in radio station imaging and/or production in the public, commercial, community, student or charitable sectors.

2. One entry per individual. If you make multiple entries only your final entry will count.

3. You may only enter for yourself, not for somebody else.

4. By entering, you agree to appear in the Earshot Creative Review and be named and featured in publicity material for Earshot or Hobsons.

5. If nobody correctly identifies both mystery voices Earshot and Hobsons reserve the right not to award a prize.

6. Prizes are offered by third parties, Hobsons and – if, for reasons of business liquidation or similar, the third party is unable to deliver the prize Steve Martin shall not be held liable for its provision.

7. There is no cash alternative to the prizes offered. The voice session may not be transferred to another party.

8. We reserve the right to add to or change these rules without notice. Any changes will be reflected on this page.